Covid-19: Our website & phone lines are operating as normal and our teams are on hand to deal with all enquiries. Due to exceptionally high volume of enquiries, we are currently operating a 5 day response time.

AEO - what are the basics?

Authorised Economic Operator (AEO) standards are an internationally recognised kitemark, which are awarded by Customs once a business is deemed to be a safe and secure link within the global supply chain.

AEO status came about as a step to protect the global supply chain after the 9/11 and 7/7 terrorist attacks. Benefiting businesses and international governments alike, the move is also beneficial for combating counterfeiting, fraud and the illegal trafficking of goods and people.

In May 2016, AEO will form the cornerstone of the new EU Customs Legislation – The Union Customs Code or ‘UCC’. Although AEO will not be mandatory, the effect of the UCC is that there are significant changes to current Customs Legislation where not holding AEO accreditation may affect current operations of those within the International Supply Chain.

There are currently three types of AEO certification:

  • AEO S - deals with examining and improving a business’s security vulnerabilities
  • AEO C - directed at customs simplifications
  • AEO F - a combination of S and C

AEO will impact any business that owns or takes custody of goods that move across international borders, including:

  • Manufacturers
  • Importers
  • Exporters
  • Transport companies
  • Warehousing and logistics providers
  • Freight forwarders

Contact Us

If you think your business may be affected by the implementation of AEO, contact The Customs People today to discuss your circumstances. Call us on 0161 82 68 926.